Lyman County, South Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lyman County, South Dakota)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
South Dakota
Lyman County

Guide to Lyman County, South Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Kennebec
Organized: January 8, 1873
Parent County(s): Gregory and unorganized territory [1]
Neighboring Counties
Brule  • Buffalo (WI)  • Charles Mix  • Gregory  • Hughes  • Hyde  • Jones  • Mellette  • Stanley  • Tripp
See County Maps
Courthouse
SouthDakotaLymanCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
SD-lyman.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Lyman Co. SDGenWeb
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

The county was named after W. P. Lyman a politician.[2] It's county seat is Kennebec. It was organized 1873. It is located in the central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Lyman County Courthouse
PO Box 235;
Kennebec, SD 57544
Phone: 605.869.2277

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1905, death records from 1920, burial and land records;
County Treasurer has marriage records from 1905;
Clerk Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1880[4]

Lyman County, South Dakota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[5]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Bailey
  • Butte
  • Dorman
  • Fairland
  • Iona
  • Morningside
  • Oacoma
  • Pleasant
  • Pratt
  • Reliance
  • Rex
  • Rose
  • Rowe
  • Sioux
  • Stony Butte
  • Vivian
Unorganized territories
  • Black Dog
  • Lafayette
  • Lower Brule
  • McClure
  • Northwest Lyman
  • South Lyman


Indian Reservation

The Lower Brule Indian Reservation is located in Lyman County.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Lyman County, South Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 124
1890 233 87.9%
1900 2,632 1029.6%
1910 10,848 312.2%
1920 6,591 −39.2%
1930 6,335 −3.9%
1940 5,045 −20.4%
1950 4,572 −9.4%
1960 4,428 −3.1%
1970 4,060 −8.3%
1980 3,864 −4.8%
1990 3,638 −5.8%
2000 3,895 7.1%
2010 3,755 −3.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for South Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see South Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lyman County, South Dakota Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.

  • Early settlers in Lyman County. 1974. By Mrs Delmer King. Presho, South Dakota : Lyman County Historical Society. Online at: ; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Lyman County pioneers, 1885-1968. 1974. Pierre, South Dakota : State Pub. Co.. Online at: ; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Of rails and trails, a centennial journey, 1889-1989. 1989. By Barbara Speck. Dallas, Texas : Curtis Media. Online at: ; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Winds of change in Lyman county. 1997. By Lyman County Historical Society. Presho, South Dakota : Lyman County Historical Society. Online at: ; At various libraries (WorldCat).

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to South Dakota. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and South Dakota Military Records.

Civil War

World War I

World War II

For further information see South Dakota Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information see South Dakota Newspapers. South Dakota Newspapers Online

South Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper.

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lyman County, South Dakota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Lyman then click Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Lyman-Brule Genealogical Society
c/o Cozard Library
110 E. Lawler
Chamberlain, SD 57325
Website

Lyman-Brule Genealogical Society and Museum
209 West Highway 16
PO Box 231
Presho, SD 57568-0231
Telephone: 605-895-9446
E-mail: lowendt@gwtc.net
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lyman_County,_South_Dakota accessed 1/31/2017
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/sdak/lyman/ accessed 1/31/2017
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Lyman County, South Dakota, p.626
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Lyman County, South Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lyman_County%2C_South_Dakota accessed 6 November 2016.