Lymm, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Lymm, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Lymm St Mary Cheshire
|Poor Law Union||Altrincham|
|Parish registers: 1568|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
LYMM, is a village, a parish, and a sub-district in Altrincham district, Cheshire. The village stands on the Bridgewater canal, near the Manchester, Warrington, and Garston railway, it is 1¼ mile SSE of the river Mersey, 1¼ of a mile SW of the river Bollin, and 4½ miles ESE of Warrington; and has a station on the railway, ther is a post office under Warrington. The parish contains also the hamlets of Heatley-Heath and Cliffe-Lane, and the places called Crouchley-Lane, Burford-Lane, Lymm Booths, Oughtrington, Broom edge, Reddish, and Stat ham; and it extends to the Mersey and the Bollin Acres. An Independent chapel was built, in 1863, there are also chapels for Baptists, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists.
Lymm St Mary the Virgin is an ancient parish in Cheshire and includes Broomedge,Burford Lane,Cliffe Lane,Crouchley Lane,Heatley Heath,Lymm Booths,Oughtrington,Reddish,Statham.
The Domesday Book shows that a church was on the site in the 11th century.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241234.
Lymm St Mary the Virgin parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free|
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|Lymm St Mary the Virgin Parish (1568) Online Records|
||1651-1675, 1701-1750, 1776-1812||
|FS PR's|| 1668-1908
|FS BT'S|| 1610-1896
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Lymm, St. Mary the Virgin (C of E). The ancient parish church for the townshop of Lymm. Registers of Baptisms 1568–1962, Marriages 1568–1951 and Burials 1568–1949 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office call nos.: P119/2924/1/1-4, P119/2924/2/1-4, P119/2924/3/1-5, P119/2924/4, P119/2924/5/1-2.
|Parish Transcript Content||FHL Film|
|Baptisms, 1568-1625.||BRITISH 2104771 Item 10|
|Baptisms, 1622-1890. Banns, 1754-1812. Marriages, 1568-1866. Burials, 1568-1812.||BRITISH 2104772|
|Marriages, 1866-1905. Marriage banns, 1835-1844. Burials, 1813-1909.||BRITISH 2104843 Items 1 - 5|
Bishop's Transcripts Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 135.
|Bishop's Transcripts Content||FHL Film|
|Baptisms, burials, marriages, 1600, 1610, 1613, 1617-1618, 1622-1625, 1628-1632, 1636-1641, 1658-1660, 1663-1666, 1668-1676, 1681-1682, 1685, 1690-1703, 1706-1707, 1709-1739, 1741-1750, 1752-1756, 1761-1799, 1801-1836.||BRITISH 1656844 Item 2|
|Marriages, 1661-1863. Baptisms, burials, 1661-1880.||BRITISH 1656845 Item 1|
Online transcripts for Lymm are available at Cheshire Parish Register project
Oughtrington, St. Peter (C of E). Built in 1872 as a chapel to Lymm, becoming the parish church for part of Lymm in 1881. Registers of Baptisms 1872–1966, Marriages 1882–1938 and Burials 1872–1910 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office Microreproduction of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England. Oughtrington is a hamlet in Lymm parish. Cheshire Record Office call no.: P237/4964/1-3, 5-7.
|Parish Register Content||FHL Film|
|Baptisms, 1872-1938. Marriages, 1882-1938. Burials, 1872-1910.||BRITISH 2149024 Items 1 - 6|
Non Conformist Churches
- Lymm, St. Wenefride (Roman Catholic), Booth's Hill Road. Built in 1905.
- Lymm, Baptist Chapel, Cherry Lane. Built in 1810.
- Lymm, Baptist Chapel, Higher Lane. Built in 1850 (with burial ground).
- Lymm, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), New Road. Built in 1809, rebuilt in 1879, closed in 1968 Registers 1809–1837 and 1929–1967 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMS 258/1-3.
|Other Content||FHL Film|
|Baptisms, 1837-1960.||BRITISH 2000039 Item 4|
|Marriages, 1929-1954.||BRITISH 2299472 Items 11 - 13|
- Lymm, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Eagle Brow. Built in 1849, rebuilt in 1897. Registers of baptisms 1832–1862 are at Manchester Central Library. Microfilm copy of original registers filmed at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England. Localities where circuit members resided include: Lowton, Kuntsford, Warrington, Lymm, Partrington, Newchurch, Shelton, Woodhouses, Highleigh, Bedford, St. Helen, Latchford, Culchath, Bank Quay, Croft, Edge Green, Bowden, Glaze Brook, Ashton, Tabley, Ashton-in-the-Willows, Carrington, Caddishead, Parr-Toll-Bar, Billinge, Pemberton, Irlam, Parr-Stocks, Altrincham, Walton, Vulcan Foundery, Risley, Manchester, Bold, Appleton, Dunham, Woodcoats, Heatley, Hulme, Agden, Warburton, Statham, Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: C18/12.
|Other Content||FHL Film|
|Baptisms, 1832-1862, 1904.||BRITISH 2357269 Item 10|
- Lymm, Methodist Chapel (Free), Cherry Lane. Built in 1849.
- Lymm, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Brookfield Road. Built in 1863.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
- Altrincham (1837–98)
- Bucklow (1898–1974)
- Warrington (post 1974)
Poor Law Unions
- Altrincham (1836–95)
- Bucklow (1895–1930)
- Altrincham (renamed Bucklow) Poor Law Union, Cheshire
Poor law records for Lymm, 1690-1872 Church of England. Parish Church of Lymm (Cheshire)
Notes Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.
Cheshire Record Office call nos.: P119/5, P119/6/1-5, P119/7/1-90, P119/19/1-3, P119/20, P119/22/1-19, P119/23/1-16, P119/25/1-59, P119/26/1-77, P119/27/1-27, P119/28/1-81, P119/29/1-2.
|Poor Law Content||FHL Film|
|Parish books, 1690-1753, 1736-1772 (includes churchwardens', overseers' and constables' assessments and payments).||BRITISH 2104843 Items 6 - 8|
|Parish books, 1772-1837 (includes churchwardens', overseers' and constables assessments and payments). Churchwardens' vouchers, 1772-1848. Constables' accounts, 1781-1804. Poor rate assessments, 1798-1799, 1820-1832.||VAULT BRITISH 2104844|
|Poor rate assessments, 1832-1836. Overseers' vouchers, 1729, 1772, 1813-1835. Settlement papers, 1703, 1716, 1729-1831. Apprenticeship indentures, 1692-1834. Bastardy ledger, 1831-1835. Bastardy papers, 1700-1701, 1724-1786, 1829. Miscellanea, 1709, 1715-1867. Paupers' book, 1817-1831. Surgeons' certificates, 1831-1836. Electoral registration claims, 1832-1833. Surveyors' accounts, 1814-1837, 1828-1837. Church rate book, 1870-1871.||BRITISH 2104845|
|Church rate book, 1872. Vestry minutes, 1820-1836, 1832.||BRITISH 2104846 Items 1 - 4|
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Lymm on GENUKI
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 26 March 2013
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
- Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
- 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) , The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 263–264, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
- Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, p. 148, ISBN 0 907768 18 0