Lyon County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lyon County, Kansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Lyon County

Guide to Lyon County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

{{{link}}}

Lyon County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Lyon County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 17, 1857
County Seat Emporia
Courthouse
px
Address Lyon County Courthouse
402 Commercial Street
Emporia, Kansas 67748
Phone: 785.672.3654


County Information

Lyon County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Tax Land Probate
1886 1856 1885 1860 1859 1859

County Courthouse

Lyon County Courthouse
402 Commercial
Emporia, KS 66801-4000
Phone: 316.342.4950

Formerly Breckenridge Co. Name changed to Lyon 5 Feb 1862.
Clerk District Court has marriage records from 1861,
divorce records from 1860, probate records from 1859
and court records from 1858.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1856.
City Clerk has birth and death records. [2]

History

Parent County

1857--Lyon County was created 17 February 1857 as an original county. County seat: Emporia [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Kslyon.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
Kansas Gravestones WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lyon County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps

Military

Civil War

During the Civil War men from Lyon County enlisted in the Emporia Guards, the Emporia Artillery and the Emporia Cavalry, 2nd Regiment Kansas Volunteer Infantry, Company H; 8th Regiment Kansas Infantry, Company H which was tranferred to the 9th Regiment Kansas Infantry, Company B; and the 11th Regiment Kansas Cavalry, Company C.

- 11th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company B

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lyon County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

 

Emporia Gazette

Obituaries

Emporia Gazette Death Notices Index 1892-1989 - Site gives information on the Index and how to obtain a copy of the obituary.

Emporia Gazette Death Notices Index 1990-1999  - Site gives information on the Index and how to obtain a copy of the obituary.

Probate

Online Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Lyon and click Probate records.


Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth Records
Death Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Lyon County Historical Society
118 East 6th Avenue
Emporia 66801

Lyon County History Center
225 E 6th St
Emporia, KS 66801
E-mail:lchsresearchcenter@gmail.com
Website

Flint Hills Genealogical Society
PO Box 555
Emporia, KS 66801-0555

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 232-245. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lyon County, Kansas page 253, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).