Lyon County, Nevada Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lyon County, Nevada)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Nevada Gotoarrow.png Lyon County

Guide to Lyon County, Nevada ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Lyon County Courthouse
27 S Main Street
PO Box 816
Yerington, NV 89447
Phone: 775.577.5043
Lyon County Website

County Recorder has marriage and land records from 1862.
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1890. [1]

Lyon County, Nevada Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1887*
1861*
1887*
1867
1862
1867
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[2]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
  • Argo
  • Artesia
  • Bucklands Station
  • Cambridge
  • Churchhill
  • Como
  • Davis Station
  • Greenville
  • Hoye
  • Hudson
  • Johntown
  • Ludwig
  • Stone Cabin
  • Sutro
  • Sweetwater
  • Thompson
  • Tippecanoe
  • Twin Flat
  • Walker River
  • Weeks
  • Wellington
  • Willington Springs
  • Wichman
Census-designated places

Locations previously posted to this location:

  • Wabuska
  • Weed Heights


{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Yerington
Organized: November 25, 1861
Parent County(s): Original county[1]
Neighboring Counties
Churchill  • Douglas  • Mineral  • Mono (CA)  • Ormsby  • Storey  • Washoe  • Carson City (Independent City)
See County Maps
Courthouse
NevadaLyonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nv-lyon.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Lyon County, Nevada online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nevada Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Lyon county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 1,837
1880 2,409 31.1%
1890 1,987 −17.5%
1900 2,268 14.1%
1910 3,568 57.3%
1920 4,078 14.3%
1930 3,810 −6.6%
1940 4,076 7.0%
1950 3,679 −9.7%
1960 6,143 67.0%
1970 8,221 33.8%
1980 13,594 65.4%
1990 20,001 47.1%
2000 34,501 72.5%
2010 51,980 50.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Lyon – LAND AND PROPERTY

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lyon County, Nevada Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nevada Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Lyon County, Nevada Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:

  • Walker River-Sonora Road 1852-1854 from the Carson Trail south to the Walker River along the base of the Sierra Nevada until it ascends to Sonora Pass and then down to Strawberry and Sonora, California

Military Records

Civil War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lyon County, Nevada Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Nevada Newspapers Online

Nevada Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.

School Records

Tax Records

Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Dayton Valley Branch Library
    321 Dayton Valley Rd
    Dayton, NV 89403
    Telephone 775-246-6212
  • Smith Valley Public Library
    20 Day Ln
    Wellington, NV 89444
    Telephone 775-465-2369
  • Central Library
    20 Nevin Way
    Yerington, NV 89447
    Telephone 775-463-6645

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lyon County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Lyon County, Nevada," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lyon_County%2C_Nevada accessed 17 March 2017.
  3. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 4 August 2011).