Männedorf parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Männedorf parish

Guide to Männedorf parish, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Männedorf

Allenberg
Allmend
Appisberg
Auf Dorf
Ausserfeld
Blatten
Boldern
Brähen
Brüsch
Bühl
Bühlen

Dändelstein
Dorfkern
Gruben
Gufenhalde
Hasenacker
Hofen
Langacker
Männedorf
Mittelwies
Neuhof
Ober-Allenberg

Obere Bühlen
Oberdorf
Saurenbach
Stocken
Tanneggli
Untere Bühlen
Unterdorf
Weiern
Widenbad
Widenrain

Surrounding Parishes

Oetwil am See
Richterswil
Stäfa
Uetikon am See
Wädenswil

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Männedorf:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 688
1634 1185139 1 53
1637 1185141 2 59
1640 1185143 1 133
1643 1185145 1 257
1646 1185147 2 39
1649 1185149 1 1
1654 1185151 1 253
1671 1185153 1 77
1682 1185159 1 149
1689 1185164 1 57
1695 1185164 2 61
1709 1185169 2 141
1720-1722 1185173 1 475

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Männedorf families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Männedorf belongs to the Männedorf civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt
Bahnhofstrasse 10
CH-8708 Männedorf

Tel: +41 44 921 66 00

email: zivilstandsamt@maennedorf.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Männedorf prior to 1875:

Aeberli
Ammann
Bachmann (1828, from
    Sternenberg)
Bertschinger
Billeter
Bindschedler
Bodmer
Brändli
Brennwald
Bühler
Burkhard
Diener

Fierz
Fietz
Gerstner (1826, from Germany)
Gugolz
Hägni
Hasler
Hausammann
Lüthi
Luz (1875, from Germany)
Meier
Müller
Oetiker
Pfenninger

Pfister
Pfrunder
Scheller
Schulthess
Schweiter
Spoerry (1857, from
    Fischenthal)
Staub
Trudel
Walder
Weber
Wetli
Zuppinger

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland