Macedonia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Macedonia)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngMacedonia

Macedonia Wiki Topics
Flag of Macedonia.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Macedonia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Guide to Macedonia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records,and military records.

Country Information

Macedonia is a country in Europe bordered by Serbia, Kosovo, Albania, Greece, and Bulgaria. The official language is Macedonian.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Macedonia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Macedonia research.

Macedonia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Macedonia research.


Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Macedonia Map

Macedonia Historical Map


Jurisdictions

Macedonia region is located on the Balkan peninsula in southeastern Europe. Its boundaries have changed considerably over time. Modern Macedonia region is divided by the national boundaries of Greece (Aegean Macedonia), the Republic of Macedonia (Vardar Macedonia), Bulgaria (Pirin Macedonia), Albania, Serbia. It covers approximately 67,000 square kilometres (25,869 sq mi) and has a population of 4.76 million. From the middle of the 4th century BC, the Kingdom of Macedon became the dominant power in Greece and the neighbouring regions; since then Macedonia has had a diverse history.

More Macedonia Research Tools

Macedoniagenealogicalrecords.jpg


FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Republic of Macedonia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Republic_of_Macedonia, accessed 27 April 2016.