Macon County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Macon County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia


Macon County


Guide to Macon County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Macon County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Macon County
Location in the state of Georgia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Georgia
Location of Georgia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 14, 1837
County Seat Oglethorpe
Courthouse
Address Macon County Courthouse
Sumter Street
PO Box 297
Oglethorpe, GA 31068
Phone: 912.471.7021
Macon County Website


County Information

Macon County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Macon County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1927
1858
1927
1840
1857
1857

County Courthouse

Macon County Courthouse
Sumter Street
PO Box 297
Oglethorpe, GA 31068
Phone: 912.471.7021

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records; Probate Court has marriage and probate records from 1857, birth and death records from 1927[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
121 S. Sumter St.
P.O. Box 337
Oglethorpe, GA 31068
Phone: (478) 472-7661
Fax: (478) 472-4775

Probate Court of Macon County
P.O. Box 216
Oglethorpe, GA 31068
Phone: (478) 472-7685

History

Parent County

Nathaniel Macon.JPG

The county is named after U.S. Senator Nathaniel Macon (1758-1837).[2]

Parent County

1837--Macon County was created 14 December 1837 from Houston and Marion Counties.
County seat:  Oglethorpe [3]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1857. The courthouse at Oglethorpe burned 25 February 1857. Most county records were lost. A few probate records survived.[4]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Dooly County  • Houston County  • Peach County  • Schley County  • Sumter County  • Taylor County

Macon CountySchley CountyMarion CountyTalbot CountyUpson CountyCrawford CountyTaylor CountyPeach CountyBibb CountyTwiggs CountyHouston CountyPulaski CountyDooly CountyWilcox CountyCrisp CountyLee CountySumter CountyTerrell CountyRandolph CountyWebster CountyGAMacon.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Georgia Interment
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Macon County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Butler, John C. Historical Record of Macon and Central Georgia, Containing Many Interesting and Valuable Reminiscences Connected with the Whole State, Including Numerous Incidents and Facts Never Before Published and of Great Historic Value. Macon, GA, USA: J. W. Burke, 1879. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Macon County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Macon County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 4th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 10th Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate),
- 12th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 25th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 61st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate),
- 62nd Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate) Companies C and K
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Macon County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Macon County Historical Society Facebook Page
PO Box 571
Montezuma , GA 31063-0571 ; (912) 472-9698

Macon County Historical Society
PO Box 304
Macon, MO 63552

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Macon County, Georgia. Page 158 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Nathaniel Macon", Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 41. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Macon_County,_Georgia_Genealogy&oldid=2771259"