Macon County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States  Gotoarrow.png  North Carolina  Gotoarrow.png  Macon County

Guide to Macon County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Macon County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Macon County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1828
County Seat Franklin
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaMaconCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Macon Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Macon County, North Carolina Genealogy Government Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Land
Probate
1913
1828
1830
1820
1830


Macon County Courthouse
Franklin, NC 28734-3005
Phone: 828-349-2095

Register of Deeds has marriage and land records
Clerk Superior Court has probate and court records[1] Macon County was recreated from Haywood in 1828


Register of Deeds
5 W. Main Street
Franklin, NC 28734
Telephone: 828-349-2095
Fax: 828-349-2403
Email
Website

Clerk of Superior Court
PO Box 288
Franklin, NC 28744
Telephone: (828) 349-7200

History

Nathaniel Macon.JPG

The county is named after U.S. Senator Nathaniel Macon (1758-1837).[2]

Parent County

1828--Macon County was created in 1828 from Haywood County.
County seat: Franklin [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Many records are missing.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncmacon.png

Cemeteries


The Macon County Historical Society is planning to release a compilation of the county's cemetery surveys in book form.

Western North Carolina and Northeast Georgia Obituaries and Headstones [1]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
North Carolina Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Macon County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church

Court

Education

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Macon County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Macon County, North Carolina Genealogy:

- 16th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company H
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company K 
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
- 7th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry, Company A
World War II

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

State Archives
County Courthouse

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Death
Divorce
Marriages

Societies and Libraries 

Macon Co Historical Society and Genealogical Society
36 W Main St
Franklin, NC 28734
Telephone Number:828-524-9758

Old Buncombe County Genealogical Society
PO Box 2122
Asheville, NC 28802-2122

Macon County Genealogical Society

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Macon County, North Carolina. Page 510 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Nathaniel Macon", Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).