Madagascar Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Madagascar)
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Madagascar

Madagascar Wiki Topics
Flag of Madagascar.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Madagascar Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Madagascar ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Madagascar is an island country in the Indian Ocean whose nearest neighbors are Reunion, Mauritius, Mayotte, and Mozambique. It was formerly a colony of France. The official languages are Malagasy and French.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Madagascar Research

Links to articles on getting started with Madagascar research.

Madagascar Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Madagascar research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Madagascar Map

320px-Madagascar-regions.png


Regions and former provinces[2]
New regions Former
provinces [3]
Diana (1) Antsiranana
Sava (2) Antsiranana
Itasy (3) Antananarivo
Analamanga (4) Antananarivo
Vakinankaratra (5) Antananarivo
Bongolava (6) Antananarivo
Sofia (7) Mahajanga
Boeny (8) Mahajanga
Betsiboka (9) Mahajanga
Melaky (10) Mahajanga
Alaotra Mangoro (11) Toamasina
Atsinanana (12) Toamasina
Analanjirofo (13) Tomasina
Amoron'i Mania (14) Fianarantsoa
Haute-Matsiatra (15) Fianarantsoa
Vatovavy-Fitovinany (16) Fianarantsoa
Atsimo-Atsinanana (17) Fianarantsoa
Ihorombe (18) Fianarantsoa
Menabe (19) Toliara
Atsimo-Andrefana (20)
Androy (21) Toliara
Anosy (22) Toliara

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Madagascar," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Madagascar, accessed 27 April 2016.
  2. Template:Cite book
  3. Institut National de la Statistique, Madagascar.