Maker, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to Maker, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Maker St Mary Cornwall
|Poor Law Union||St Germans|
|Registration District||St Germans|
|Parish registers: 1630|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1607|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
MAKER (St. Macra), a parish, in the union of St. Germans, S. division of the hundred of East, E. division of Cornwall, 2¼ miles (S. by W.) from Devonport. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Baptists.
Maker (Cornish: Magor) St Mary and St Julian
The name means a ruin in Cornish, but another Celtic name is Egloshayle, (not to be confused with Egloshayle on the River Camel) which means, the church on the estuary, a very apt description of the church's location.
The church of St Julian is a typical 15th century Cornish church. It was a time of rebuilding throughout the country and churches were designed for preaching the word rather than stressing the liturgy. The aisles are the same length as the nave, and there is a massive western tower. The font is Norman, but was originally at St Merryn. The Edgcumbe chapel was added in 1874.
The modern parish forms part of Maker with Rame, United Parish in the Diocese of Truro.
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Maker, Cornwall Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Maker, Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 152
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish. The Online Parish Clerk for Maker also contributes to the including Rame, Cornwall Sheviock, Cornwall & St Germans, Cornwall.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241259.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
Maker in GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 216-221. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
- 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
- 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.