Malawi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Malawi)
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Malawi

Malawi Wiki Topics
Flag of Malawi.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Malawi Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Malawi ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Malawi is a country in Africa bordered by Zambia, Tanzania, and Mozambique. The official language is English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Malawi Research

Links to articles on getting started with Malawi research.

Malawi Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Malawi research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Malawi Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Malawi. Malawi is divided into 28 districts within three regions.

  • Central Region
    • 1 – Dedza
    • 2 – Dowa
    • 3 – Kasungu
    • 4 – Lilongwe
    • 5 – Mchinji
    • 6 – Nkhotakota
    • 7 – Ntcheu
    • 8 – Ntchisi
    • 9 – Salima
  • Northern Region
    • 10 – Chitipa
    • 11 – Karonga
    • 12 – Likoma
    • 13 – Mzimba
    • 14 – Nkhata Bay
    • 15 – Rumphi
  • Southern Region
    • 16 – Balaka
    • 17 – Blantyre
    • 18 – Chikwawa
    • 19 – Chiradzulu
    • 20 – Machinga
    • 21 – Mangochi
    • 22 – Mulanje
    • 23 – Mwanza
    • 24 – Nsanje
    • 25 – Thyolo
    • 26 – Phalombe
    • 27 – Zomba
    • 28 – Neno[3]

Malawi Districts.png

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Malawi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malawi, accessed 27 April 2016.