Malaysia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Malaysia)
Jump to: navigation, search

Asia Gotoarrow.png Malaysia

Malaysia Wiki Topics
Flag of Malaysia.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Malaysia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources


Guide to Malaysia ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Country Information

Malaysia is a country in Asia bordered by Indonesia, Brunei, Singapore, and Thailand. The official language is Bahasa Melayu (Malay).[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Malaysia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Malaysia research.

Malaysia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Malaysia research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Malaysia Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Malaysia.

Perlis
Kedah
Penang
Kelantan
Terengganu
Perak
Selangor
Negeri Sembilan
Malacca
Johor
Pahang
Sarawak
Sabah
Labuan
Kuala Lumpur
Putrajaya
West Malaysia
East Malaysia
(Blue) States
(Red) Federal Territories
South China Sea
Strait
of
Malacca
Gulf of Thailand
Sulu Sea
Celebes Sea

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Malaysia.

States

  • Johor
  • Kedah
  • Kelantan
  • Malacca
  • Negeri
  • Sembilan
  • Pahang
  • Perak
  • Perlis
  • Penang
  • Sabah
  • Sarawak
  • Selangor
  • Terengganu

Federal Territories

  • Kuala Lumpur
  • Labuan
  • Putrajaya

Former State

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Malaysia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malaysia, accessed 27 April 2016.