Malborough, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Malborough, Devon)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Malborough, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Malborough, Devon
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stanborough
County Devon
Poor Law Union Kingsbridge
Registration District Kingsbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; For more records see West Alvington
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Woodleigh
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History

MALBOROUGH, a parish, in the union of Kingsbridge, hundred of Stanborough, Stanborough and Coleridge, and S. divisions of Devon, 4 miles (S. W. by S.) from Kingsbridge with the chapelry of Salcombe.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Malborough, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Malborough, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1558-1837
1558-1837


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Plymouth Brethren
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241321.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Malborough on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 30 October 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 February 2014.