Maldon St Mary, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Maldon St Mary, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Maldon St Mary, Essex, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Maldon St Mary, Essex
Maldon St Mary contributor Robert Edwards.jpg
Maldon St Mary contributor Robert Edwards
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Maldon Borough
County Essex
Poor Law Union Maldon
Registration District Maldon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Maldon
Diocese Pre-1830 - None; Post-1829 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Westminster (Abbey) Post-1829 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

MALDON, is a borough, port, and a market-town, having separate jurisdiction, and  is the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Dengie, the S. division of Essex, just 10 miles (E.) from Chelmsford, and 38 (E. N. E.) from London. The old borough comprises the parishes of All Saints, St. Peter, and St. Mary. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Maldon St Mary, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Maldon St Mary, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1558-1922
1558-1957
1558-1910
Non-Conformist Chuches
  • Wesleyan Methodist

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Maldon All Saints with, but the exact parish has not been identified:

  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Particular Baptist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241381.


Poor Law Unions

Maldon Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Maldon on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: date accessed 28 May 2013
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.