Malta Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Malta)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Malta

Malta Wiki Topics
Flag of Malta.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Malta Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Guide to Malta ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Country Information

Malta is an island country in the Mediterranean Sea. Its nearest neighbors at Italy, Tunisia, and Libya. It has previously been ruled by the Normans, Knights of Malta, France, and Great Britain. The official languages are Maltese, English, and Maltese Sign Language.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Malta Research

Links to articles on getting started with Malta research.

Malta Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Malta research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Malta Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Malta. Malta - administrative division.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Malta. Local councils:

  • Attard
  • Balzan
  • Birgu (Città Vittoriosa)
  • Birkirkara
  • Birżebbuġa
  • Bormla (Città Cospicua)
  • Dingli
  • Fgura
  • Furjana
  • Fontana (It-Triq tal-Għajn)
  • Għajnsielem
  • Għarb
  • Għargħur
  • Għasri
  • Għaxaq
  • Gudja
  • Gżira
  • Ħamrun
  • Iklin
  • Isla (Città Senglea)
  • Kalkara
  • Kerċem
  • Kirkop
  • Lija
  • Luqa
  • Marsa
  • Marsaskala (Wied il-Għajn)
  • Marsaxlokk
  • Mdina (Città Notabile)
  • Mellieħa
  • Mġarr
  • Mosta
  • Mqabba
  • Msida
  • Mtarfa
  • Munxar
  • Nadur
  • Naxxar
  • Paola (Raħal Ġdid)
  • Pembroke
  • Pietà
  • Qala
  • Qormi (Città Pinto)
  • Qrendi
  • Rabat
  • Rabat, Għawdex (Città Victoria)
  • Safi
  • San Ġiljan
  • San Ġwann
  • San Lawrenz
  • San Pawl il-Baħar
  • Sannat
  • Santa Luċija
  • Santa Venera
  • Siġġiewi (Città Ferdinand)
  • Sliema
  • Swieqi
  • Tarxien
  • Valletta (Città Umillisima)
  • Xbiex
  • Xagħra
  • Xewkija
  • Xgħajra
  • Żabbar (Città Hompesch)
  • Żebbuġ (Città Rohan)
  • Żebbuġ, Għawdex
  • Żejtun (Città Beland)
  • Żurrieq

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Malta," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malta, accessed 27 April 2016.