Mamble with Bayton, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Mamble with Bayton, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mamble with Bayton, Worcestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Doddingtree
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Cleobury Mortimer
Registration District Cleobury Mortimer
Records begin
Parish registers: 1737
Bishop's Transcripts: 1638
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burford
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

MAMBLE (St. John), a parish, in the union of Cleobury-Mortimer, Lower division of the hundred of Doddingtree, Hundred-House and W. divisions of the county of Worcester, 6 miles (W. S. W.) from Bewdley. The parish is bounded on the west by a portion of Shropshire. The living is a discharged vicarage, with that of Bayton united.[1]

BAYTON (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Cleobury-Mortimer, Lower division of the hundred of Doddingtree, Hundred-House and W. divisions of the county of Worcester, 1¾ mile (S. E. by S.) from Cleobury-Mortimer.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 12 October 2013.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 12 October 2013.
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.