Manea, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Manea, Cambridgeshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cambridgeshire
Cambridgeshire Parishes
Manea

Guide to Manea, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Manea, Cambridgeshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Witchford
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union North Witchford
Registration District North Witchford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1708; For more records see Coveney
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ely
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

MANEA, a chapelry, in the parish of Coveney, union of North Witchford, hundred of South Witchford, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 7¾ miles (S. E. by S.) from March. Besides the chapel, there is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Manea, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Manea, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1607-1864 1599-1837, 1856-1862, 1864
1607-1864

Parish registers for Manea, 1708-1876 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Manea, 1607-1864 have been digitised.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Manea on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 247-251. Date accessed and adapted: 08 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.