Manningtree, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Manningtree, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Methodist Church Manningtree Essex
|Poor Law Union||Tendring|
|Parish registers: 1695|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1801|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Manningtree (St. Michael), is a market-town and parish, in the union and hundred of Tendring, N. division of Essex, 9 miles N E by E from Colchester, and 61 N E by E from London. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Manningtree, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|Manningtree, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office for St Michael and all Angels, Manningtree Wesleyan methodist Church, Manningtree Independent Chapel and Manningtree Preparative meeting.
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241376.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Manningtree on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)