Mapleton, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Mapleton, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Derbyshire
Derbyshire Parishes
Mapleton

Guide to Mapleton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mapleton, Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree; Morlestone and Litchurch; Wirksworth
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashbourne
Registration District Ashbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1704
Bishop's Transcripts: 1677
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashbourne
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

MAPPLETON (St. Mary), a parish, in the hundred of Wirksworth, S. division of the county of Derby, 1¾ mile (N. W.) from Ashbourn. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Mapleton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Mapleton St Mary (1704) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1703-1912
  NONE
1704-1889
  NONE
1704-1912
  NONE
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241299.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Mapleton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 251-253.Date accessed: 13 May 2013.