Marathon County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Marathon County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search

Guide to Marathon County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Marathon County


{{{link}}}


Marathon County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 9, 1850
County Seat Wausau
Courthouse
Address Marathon County Courthouse
500 Forest Street
Wausau, WI 54403
Phone. 715.261.1500


WI Marathon.png


County Information

Marathon County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1870 1861 1850 1841 1851


County Courthouse

Marathon County Courthouse
500 Forest Street
Wausau, WI 54403
Phone. 715.261.1500

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and death records
from 1900 and land records from 1850;
Clerk of Courts has divorce and court records from 1900;
County Court has probate records from 1900[1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1850--Marathon County was created 9 February 1850 from Portage County.  County seat: Wausau [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities
  • Abbotsford†
  • Colby†
  • Marshfield†
  • Mosinee
  • Schofield
  • Wausau

† Only partially in Marathon County.

Villages
  • Athens
  • Birnamwood
  • Brokaw
  • Dorchester
  • Edgar
  • Elderon
  • Fenwood
  • Hatley
  • Kronenwetter
  • Marathon
  • Rothschild
  • Spencer
  • Stratford
  • Unity
  • Weston
Towns[2]
  • Bergen (created 10 Jan 1870)
  • Berlin (created 12 Feb 1859)
  • Bern (created 9 Jan 1902)
  • Bevent (created 19 Apr 1917)
  • Brighton (created 20 May 1873, name vacated 26 Mar 1874, reestablished 17 Aug 1874)
  • Cassel (created 12 Nov 1891)
  • Cleveland (created 14 Nov 1884)
  • Day (created 10 Jun 1881)
  • Easton (created 24 Oct 1861, name vacated 21 Mar 1865, reestablished 12 Nov 1878)
  • Eau Pleine (created 14 Nov 1884)
  • Elderon (created 21 Dec 1887)
  • Emmet (created 20 Dec 1888)
  • Frankfort (created 18 Dec 1889)
  • Franzen (created 9 Jan 1901)
  • Green Valley (created 12 Nov 1913)
  • Guenther (created 23 Mar 1921)
  • Halsey (created 15 Nov 1883)
  • Hamburg (created 11 Feb 1876)
  • Harrison (created 20 Dec 1888)
  • Hewitt (created 19 Dec 1894)
  • Holton (created 16 Sep 1875)
  • Hull (created 4 Mar 1873)
  • Johnson (created 15 Nov 1883)
  • Knowlton (created 12 Feb 1859)
  • Kronenwetter (created 12 Nov 1886)
  • Maine (created 1866)
  • Marathon (created 1851, name vacated 12 Nov 1856, reestablished 12 Feb 1859)
  • McMillan (created 21 Dec 1888)
  • Mosinee (created 12 Nov 1856)
  • Norrie (created 30 Dec 1886)
  • Plover (created 20 Jun 1890)
  • Reid (created 1917)
  • Rib Falls (created 12 Dec 1876)
  • Rib Mountain (created 12 Nov 1930)
  • Rietbrock (created 12 Nov 1879)
  • Ringle (created 9 Jan 1901)
  • Spencer (created 14 Nov 1876)
  • Stettin (created 1 Mar 1860)
  • Texas (created 17 Mar 1858)
  • Wausau (created 12 Nov 1856)
  • Weston (created 12 Feb 1859)
  • Wien (created 12 Nov 1867)
Defunct Towns[3]
  • Bull Falls (created 9 Jan 1849 in Portage County, set off to Marathon County 9 Feb 1850)
  • Eau Claire (created 12 Nov 1856, renamed Weston 12 Feb 1859)
  • Erickson (created 6 Jan 1905, renamed Flieth)
  • Flieth (created 21 Mar 1905, renamed Rib Mountain 12 Nov 1930)
  • Jenny (created 10 Nov 1857, set off to Lincoln County 4 Mar 1874)
  • Pike Lake (created 30 Dec 1886, renamed Bevent 19 Apr 1917)
Unincorporated Villages
  • Bevent
  • Bradley
  • Cherokee
  • Dancy
  • Gad
  • Galloway
  • Glandon
  • Granite Heights
  • Halder
  • Hamburg
  • Hogarty
  • Knowlton
  • Little Chicago
  • Little Rose
  • March Rapids
  • Milan
  • Moon
  • Norrie
  • Nutterville
  • Peplin
  • Pike Lake
  • Poniatowski
  • Rib Falls
  • Ringle
  • Rozellville
  • Shantytown
  • Sunset
  • Taegesville
  • Wien
Other Communities

Neighboring Counties

Clark  • Langlade  • Lincoln  • Portage  • Shawano  • Taylor  • Waupaca  • Wood

WI MARATHON.JPG

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
  • 1905 - 1905 Marathon County Census--  Index of handwritten cards from the 1905 county census.  Search results include  surname, first name, age, location, and a link to the detailed record.  A copy of the original census information can be ordered.  Note that each record in the original census contains surname, location, first name, relationship, sex, race, age, marital status, birthplace, parent's birthplace, occupation and notes.
  • Census substitute - Early Wausau City Directories.  1883, 1886, 1888, 1893, 1910, 1912, 1914 city directories are included in this index.  The Marathon County Historical Society will provide a copy of the original city directory record for a fee. The Family History Library has addtional early Wausau city directories on film. 

Church History and Records

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

FuneralHomes has list of funeral homes and history of Funeral Homes in Marathon County,(mostly Wausau) along with the addresses and whether or not records can be read there

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Wimarath Stories

History

Local histories are available from the Marathon County Historical Society. This collection of histories indexed and is searchable by surname or business name.

Wimarath Stories has links to many various stories, interviews, histories of towns, etc.

Insane Asylum and Poor Farm

Information about the history of the Asylum and Poor Farm comes from copies of materials at the Marathon County Historical Library, 410 McIndoe, Wausau,WI Wimarath Insane covering years 1893 - 1971

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Marathon County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Marathon County.

- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Companies D and F
- 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company G


Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Marathon County Historical Society
403 Mcindoe St
Wausau 54403-4746

Marathon County Genealogical Society
PO Box 1512
Wausau, WI 54402-1512
Website

Marathon County Historical Society
410 McIndoe Street
Wausau, WI 54403
Office: 715-842-5750
Library: 715-848-0378
Fax: 715-848-0576
Website

Taxation

Vital Records

Wisconsin Government Vital Records General Request lists earliest registration dates by county
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 758 Marathon County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002). Cite error: Invalid <ref> tag; name "Handybook" defined multiple times with different content
  2. Wisconsin Historical Society. Dictionary of Wisconsin History
  3. Wisconsin Historical Society. Dictionary of Wisconsin History