Marden, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Marden, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.pngWiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Marden

Guide to Marden, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Marden, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Swanborough
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Devizes
Registration District Devizes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1684
Bishop's Transcripts: 1623
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Potterne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

MARDEN (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Devizes, hundred of Swanborough, Devizes and N. divisions of Wiltshire 7 miles (S. E.) from Devizes.[1] 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Marden parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
MARDEN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1685-1813 1693-1841
JOIN
1693-1812

NBI

1622-1862
NIM 1622-1840
1623-1837
1622-1837
TGEN
1693-1812

<

Census records

The 1841 Census returns for Marden are missing.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 220986.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) pp. 253-257 Date accessed: 02 October 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  3. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.