Marion County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Marion County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Marion County
White River near Flippin, Marion County, Arkansas


Guide to Marion County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Marion County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Marion County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 3, 1835
County Seat Yellville
Courthouse
ArkansasMarionCourthouse.jpg
Address Marion County Courthouse
Hwy 62; PO Box 545
Yellville, AR 72687
Phone: 870.449.6226
Adopt-a-wiki page
ARGenWeb.JPG This page adopted by:
ARGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today



County Courthouse

Marion County Courthouse
Hwy 62; PO Box 545
Yellville, AR 72687
Phone: 870.449.6226

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land  records from 1888.

The ARGenweb Project has information on The Burning of the Courthouse, How to Order Copies from the Courthouse and more.
[1]

Beginning years for Marion County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1887 1914* 1887 1887 1887
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Francis Marion.JPG

The county is named after "The Swamp Fox" Revolutionary War Brigadier General Francis Marion (c1732-1795).[3]

Parent County

  • 1835--Marion County was created 3 November 1835 from Izard County. County seat: Yellville [4]

Boundary Changes

  • Timeline of Marion Co's history including boundary changes, per ARGenWeb

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1888 A courthouse fire destroyed many records.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Townships

Townships - formation and changes: 

Neighboring Counties

Baxter  • Boone  • Ozark County, Missouri  • Searcy  • Taney County, Missouri  •

Marion CountyBaxter CountyIzard CountyStone CountyFulton CountySearcy CountyNewton CountyBoone CountyCarroll CountyStone CountyOzark CountyTaney CountyARMarion.JPG


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Marion County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

  • 1815-1820 - The first white person believed to have been born in Marion County was A. S. “Uncle Bud” Wood, son of William Wood who moved from Tennessee to Marion County as a young man.
  • 1820s or 1830s - One of the earliest white families of settlers in Marion County was Mike Yocum and his three brothers, Jess, Solomon, and Jake. These four men came to America from Germany and settled at the mouth of the Little North Fork of White River.
  • 1835 - Marion County was created from a portion of the western part of Izard County, although it was immediately renamed Searcy County by the Territorial General Assembly.
  • 1836 September 29 - The First General Assembly of Arkansas received a petition from the county requesting the name be reverted to Marion County.
  • 1861-1865 - As more and more men were recruited and left home, the county saw an influx of men from other areas who sought to evade service and, banding together, began to plunder the largely defenseless homes and farms.
  • 1800s (late) - The population of the county grew dramatically when valuable metal ores began to be mined late in the nineteenth century.
  • 1900-1930 - When the mining industry declined, people began to leave Marion County, seeking jobs elsewhere. The Great Depression increased the exodus from the county.

Genealogy Resources

Link to available resources for Marion Co: 

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Marian County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Marion County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)


  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists


Link to cemetery location maps and cemeteries in Marion Co: . Before Bull Shoals Dam was built the Corp of Engineers inventoried and moved many cemeteries. A list of the cemeteries moved, information from tombstones and information on the cemetery the interments were moved to are found in this section. Pleasant Ridge cemetery's burials and, when available, obituaries are also found here.

Census

Abstracts of Marion Co Census Records: 

Church Records

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Index to Deed Records: 

Original land owners & plats: 

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Marion County, Arkansas Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marion County, Arkansas Genealogy:


- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[6]
- 1st Cavalry Battalion (Regiment), Arkansas Cavalry (Stirman's) (Cavalry)[7], Companies A and B
- 5th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Captain James R. Dowd's company
- 7th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 14th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Powers') (Confederate)
- 27th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies A, E and K

Online Records

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Marion County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Abstracts from Mt Echo Newspapers: MARION COUNTY AR NEWSPAPERS

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
  • 1947 - 1964 - Marion County Birth Index 1947-1964. Batch C750734 at FamilySearch - free.[8]
Marriage
Death

Link to obituaries: Argenweb Includes obituaries or death information found in early newspapers from the 1800s and 1900s, plus current obituaries beginning in 2000.

Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Link to Genealogy Society: argenweb.net/marion/historicalsociety.html and society's Newsletter argenweb.net/marion/bramblebush/index.html

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Marion County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Marion County Genealogy Society Marion County Library,
Yellville, Arkansas

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Marion County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Marion County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Marion County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Marion County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 69.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. "Francis Marion," Wikipedia.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Sherry Sanders-Gray, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=789&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=: accessed January 14, 2016), “Marion County.”
  6. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  7. Desmond Walls Allen, The Seventh Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988) FHL book 976.7 M22adw
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.
  9. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.