Marion County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Marion County, Indiana)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Marion County

Guide to Marion County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}



Marion County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 31, 1821
County Seat Indianpolis
Courthouse
Address Marion County Courthouse
200 E. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: 317-327-4740
Marion County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1822*
1882*
1822
1822
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed 31 December 1821 from the Delaware New Purchase [1]
  • County Seat: Indianapolis[2]

Neighboring Counties

Boone  • Hamilton  • Hancock  • Shelby  • Johnson  • Morgan  • Hendricks

Inmarion.jpg

The county is named after "The Swamp Fox" Revolutionary War Brigadier General Francis Marion (c1732-1795).[3]


Marion CountyJohnson CountyHancock CountyMadison CountyBoone CountyHamilton CountyHancock CountyPutnam CountyHendricks CountyShelby CountyMorgan CountyOwen CountyINMarion.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Marion County Cemeteries - www.genealogyindy.org(Genealogical Society of Marion County)

  1. Vol. 21 page 73 - Old Battleground Cemetery
  2. Vol. 21 page 84 - Huffman Cemetery, Washington Township
Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
INGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
INGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Indiana Interment
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Marion County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.


Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Indianapolis
  • Indianapolis Dist
  • Indianapolis N.
  • Indianapolis S.
Lutheran

aka Evangelical

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Indianapolis, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Marion County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Directories

Genealogical Society of Marion County holds several city directories in their library. www.genealogyindy.org

Fold3.com ($) has Indianapolis City Directories 1857, 1861, 1864-1923 (3 yrs. missing) available online.

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local Histories

  • The People's Guide, a Business, Political and Religious Directory of Marion Co., Ind., Together with a Collection of Very Important Documents and Statistics Connected with Our Moral, Political and Scientific History. 1873.other librariesINTERNET ARCHIVE
  • United States. Names of Persons Enumerated in Marion County, Indiana, at the Fifth Census Eighteen Hundred and Thirty. (Indianapolis: E.J. Hecker, printer and publisher, 1908.) other librariesGoogle books
  • Pictorial and Biographical Memoirs of Indianapolis and Marion County, Indiana: Together with Biographies of Many Prominent Men of Other Portions of the State, Both Living and Dead. (Tucson, Arizona: Americana Unlimited, 1974.) otherlibraries Google books

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Marion County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Marion County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marion County.

World War II

World War II

Residents of Marion County Who Received Medals in World War I ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)

Naturalization Records

Newspapers

Obituaries

Occupational Records

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Online Records

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Marion County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records

Voter Registration

Other Records

Repositories

Archives

County Courthouse

Marion County Courthouse
200 E Washington
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: 317-327-4740

CountyClerk has marriage and divorce records.
County Recorder has birth, death and land records.
Probate Court has probate records.[4]

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

www.genealogyIndy.org Genealogical Society of Marion County. Established in 1995 GSMC focuses on Marion County genealogical records.


Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Marion County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Birth Records

Marriage Records

  • 1800-1925 Indiana Marriage Collection, 1800-1941 Ancestry. ($) Name index; year range = 1822-1836, 1861-1925, for Marion County

Death Records


Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Marion County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:



Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Marion County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marion_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. "Francis Marion," Wikipedia.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Marion County, Indiana 214 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.