Marion County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Marion County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Marion County

Guide to Marion County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Marion County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 14, 1822
County Seat Palmyra
Courthouse
MissouriMarionCourthouse.jpg
Address Marion County Courthouse
100 S Main Street
Palmyra, MO 63461
Phone: 573.769.2549
Marion County Website


County Information

Marion County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1827 1883 1830 1827 1827

County Courthouse


 

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, court
and land records from 1827 and military discharge
records; Probate Court has probate records[2]

History

Francis Marion.JPG

The county is named after "The Swamp Fox" Revolutionary War Brigadier General Francis Marion (c1732-1795).[3]

Parent County

1822 Marion County was created 14 December 1822 from Ralls County. County seat: Palmyra [4]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Adams County, Illinois  • Lewis  • Monroe  • Pike County, Illinois  • Ralls  • Shelby

Marion CountyScotland CountyKnox CountyAdair CountyShelby CountyMacon CountyClark CountySchuyler CountyRalls CountyMonroe CountyLewis CountyRandolph CountyPike CountyPike CountyMcDonough CountyHancock CountySchuyler CountyAdams CountyBrown CountyMOMarion1.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Hannibal
Presbyterian

New Providence Presbyterian Church, Round Grove Township

  • 1834 - 1859 New Providence Presbyterian Church, Round Grove Township Baptism Index 1834-1859. Batch C535261 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1835 - 1849 New Providence Presbyterian Church, Round Grove Township Marriage Index 1835-1849. Batch M535261 at FamilySearch - free.[5]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Marion County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Kuhn, Kate Ray. A history of Marion County. [S.l. : s.n.], c1963.
  • History of Marion County, Missouri... : together with a condensed history of Missouri, the city of St. Louis, a reliable and detailed history of Marion County. St. Louis : E. F. Perkins, 1884.
  • Wilham, Kathleen. Marion Co., Mo. old settlers reunions, 1870's-1880's. Shelbyville, Missouri : K. Wilham, c1987.

Maps

Momarion.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Marion County, Missouri Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marion County, Missouri Genealogy:


- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 39th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 39th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 39th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company F
- 10th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 10th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 10th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 11th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 11th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company K
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company G
- 53rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 53rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 53rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 53rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Detached Company
- 38th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 38th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 38th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 38th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 38th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 38th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 38th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Marion County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries


List of Missouri Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Library

Hannibal Free Public Library
200 South Fifth Street
Hannibal, MO 63401
Phone: 573-221-0222
Website

Historical Society

Marion County (Missouri) Historical Society
1001 Hill Street
Hannibal, MO 63401
History Museum Website
Historical Society Facebook

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Hannibal Missouri Family History Center
9 Centerville Rd,
Hannibal, MO 63401 United States
Location Map

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Marion County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Marion County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Marion Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Marion County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Marion County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
Ancestry.com Marion County Message Board

Wills

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Marion County, Missouri. Page 402 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. "Francis Marion," Wikipedia.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. 5.00 5.01 5.02 5.03 5.04 5.05 5.06 5.07 5.08 5.09 5.10 5.11 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.