Martin County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Martin County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Martin County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Courthouse
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Cemeteries
- 4.2 Census
- 4.3 Church Records
- 4.4 Court
- 4.5 Land
- 4.6 Local Histories
- 4.7 Maps
- 4.8 Migration
- 4.9 Military
- 4.10 Newspapers
- 4.11 Probate
- 4.12 Taxation
- 4.13 Vital Records
- 4.14 Yearbooks
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Web Sites
- 7 References
Martin County Courthouse
305 East Main Street
Williamston, NC 27892-0668
Courthouse burned in 1884
1820 census missing
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and Court records from1800's
and probate records from 1700's 
Register of Deeds
PO Box 348
Williamston, NC 27892
Clerk of Superior Court
PO Box 807
Williamston, NC 27892
Telephone: (252) 809-5100
My North Carolina Genealogy - Martin County History and Information
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1862, 1884--Courthouse fires destroyed many court records.
Bear Grass, Cross Roads , Goose Nest, Griffins, Hamilton, Jamesville, Poplar Point, Robersonville, Williams, Williamston
- Martin County Cemeteries at the NCGenWeb Archives
- Martin County cemetery information at the Martin County NCGenWeb site
- Find-A-Grave: Martin County Cemeteries
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
For tips on accessing Martin County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Skewarkey, near Williamston, N.C. Established by 1787.
- Court transcriptions - NCGenWeb Archives
Register of Deeds Website
The Martin County Register of Deeds maintains records for land transactions in the county. Visit their website for further information and to search online deed records from 1866 to present.
Additional Land Records
- Deeds - NCGenWeb Archives
- [FHL Microfilm] - Deeds, 1774-1941; index to real estate conveyances, 1772-1963 - also look for it in a library using WorldCat.com.
- [FHL Microfilm] - Deeds, 1774-1867; grantor index, 1771-1881
- [Book] - Martin County, North Carolina abstracts of deed books - 3-volume set that covers 1774-1811. Available at the Family History Library
Early migration routes to and from Martin County for European settlers included:
- 1861-1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861-1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1885-1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — images
Regiments. Service men in Martin County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Martin County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 17th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry (1st Organization), Company F
- - 17th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry (1st Organization), Company G
- - 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company K
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company H
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company K
- - 41st Regiment Volunteers - 3rd Cavalry, Company K
Online Probate Records
- 1660 – 1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $]
- 1663 - 1979 North Carolina Estate Files 1663-1979 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1665 - 1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 – 1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Martin County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1774-1963 - Will Books 1 to 10 (1774-1963) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Martin County wills - transcribed wills submitted to the NCGenWeb Archives; coverage varies
- [Book] - Martin County, North Carolina : abstracts of will books, 1774-1868. Published in 1990. The index to this book is available online here. If you find a will of interest, then look at this list of libraries that have it and contat them for details.
- 1872-1935 - Martin County Marriage Index 1872-1935 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- Births, Marriages & Death information for Martin County - NCGenWeb site
- Search death certificates in the FamilySearch database North Carolina Deaths, 1906-1930
- Search marriage information in the FamilySearch database North Carolina Marriages 1762-1979
- Obituaries - death notices of Martin County residents
- 1800 - 2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1898 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1741-2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759-1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762–1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763-1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Martin County students attending NC colleges - link via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Societies and Libraries
Martin County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 121
Martin County Historical Society
P.O. Box 468
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Martin County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- NCGenWeb: Martin County - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
- Martin County at Our Family Tree
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Martin County, North Carolina. Page 510 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:491. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990; "Skewarkey Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.