Martinique, France Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Martinique)
Jump to: navigation, search

France Gotoarrow.png Caribbean Gotoarrow.png Martinique

Martinique Wiki Topics
Flag of Martinique.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Martinique Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Martinique ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Martinique is an overseas island territory of France in the Caribbean. Its nearest neighbors are Saint Lucia, Barbados, and Dominica. The official language is French.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Martinique Research

Links to articles on getting started with Martinique research.

Martinique Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Martinique research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Martinique Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Martinique. Arrondissements:

Martinique legende arrs.PNG

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Martinique. Martinique is divided into four arrondissements:

  • Fort-de-France
  • La Trinité
  • Le Marin
  • Saint-Pierre

Online Church Records and Civil Registration

The vast majority of your research will be in church records and civil registration. Fortunately, these records are available online from the archives of each department.

How to Read the Records

Learning to Read Enough French to Do Genealogy

  • It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.
French Genealogical Word List
French Handwriting.
  • There is a three-lesson course in reading French Records:
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 1: The French Alphabet,
French Handwritten Records Lesson 2: Key Words and Phrases
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 3: Reading French Records

Finding Church Records and Civil Registration Online

Each Department of France has archives that provide digitized images of these records.
Here is the address for the Department Archives of Martinique where you will find these records.
National Overseas Archives, Martinique

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Martinique," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Martinique, accessed 27 April 2016.