Martinsthorpe, Rutland Genealogy
Guide to Martinsthorpe, Rutland ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Oakham|
|Parish registers: None|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Rutland Record Office|
MARTINSTHORPE (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Oakham, hundred of Martinsley, county of Rutland, 3½ miles (N.) from the town of Uppingham. 
MARTINSTHORPE, a parish in Oakham district, Rutland; 1¼ mile NW of Manton r. station, and 3 S by E of Oakham.
It is located about four miles south of Oakham near the village of Manton. It is the only parish in Rutland to have a population of zero. It is one of only eight parishes in England with nil population.
One uninhabited building remains on the ridge. Originally this was part of the outbuildings of Martinsthorpe Hall, a seat of the Earls of Nottingham.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Deposited records are found at the Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland Record Office.
Diocese of Peterborough: See Oakham, Rutland records
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474578.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.