Mason County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Mason County, Texas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Texas go to Counties M go to Mason County

Guide to Mason County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png


Mason County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Mason County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 22 January, 1858
County Seat Mason
Courthouse
TexasMasonCourthouse.jpg
Address Mason County Courthouse
PO Box 702
Mason, TX 76856
Adopt-a-wiki page
Txgenweblogo.GIF This page adopted by:
TXGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


County Information

County Courthouse

Mason County Courthouse
PO Box 702
Mason, TX 76856
Phone: 915.347.5253

County Clerk has birth, death and burial records from 1903,
marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1877
and land records from 1850[1]

County and District Clerk

P.O. Box 702
Mason 78656
Phone: 915-347-5253


Mason County has had three courthouses.  The first one built in 1875, burned in 1877. The second courthouse was built in 1878. The current courthouse was built in 1909.

Mason County, Texas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1903 1877 1860 1877 1877


History

1846--Settlement of the county began about 1846.

Parent County

1858--Mason County was created 22 January 1858 from Gillespie County and Bexar Land District.

  • County seat: Mason [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

1877 -- The first Mason County Courthouse burned on 22 January 1877 during the Mason County HooDoo War. [3] [4]

Places / Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Art | Fredonia | Hedwigs Hill |Katemcy | Loyal Valley | Mason | Pontotoc

Neighboring Counties

Gillespie  • Kimble  • Llano  • McCulloch  • Menard  • San Saba

Concho CountyMcCulloch CountySan Saba CountyMenard CountyMason CountyLlano CountyKimble CountyGilespie CountyTX MASON.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb


Billion Graves

Billion Graves


Cemeteries of Texas



Names in Stone



See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.


Lutheran
  • Records of St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Mason County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Mason County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

  • Mason County Historical Book, 1976, by the Mason County Historical Commission.
  • Mason and Mason County: A History, 1966, revised, 1980, by Stella Gipson Polk.
  • Mason County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.

Maps

Txmason.jpg

Military

Mexican-American War
Civil War

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mason County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records


Death

Online Death Indexes and Records'

Divorce

Societies and Libraries

Mason County Historical Commission
PO Box 524
Mason, Texas 76856
website

Mason County Library
410 Post Hill
Mason, Texas 76856
Telephone Number: 325-347-5446
Fax: 325-347-6562
website

Mason County Museum
210 Bryan (Northeast corner of Moody and Bryan)
Mason, Texas 76856
information
Hours: Thurs-Sat, 10 am-noon and 1-4 pm. Closed January & February.

Museum on the Square
130 Fort McKavett (north side of the square)
Mason, Texas 76856
website
Hours: Thurs-Sat, 10:00 am-4:00 pm

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

  • TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
  • FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mason County, Texas. Page 669 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia: Mason County War http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mason_County_War
  4. Mason County Historical Commission http://www.masonchc.org/masoncountywar.html