Matagorda County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Matagorda County, Texas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Texas
Matagorda County


Guide to Matagorda County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png


Matagorda County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Matagorda County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 17 March, 1836
County Seat Bay City
Courthouse
TexasMatagordaCounty.jpg
Address Matagorda County Courthouse
1700 7th Street
Bay City, TX 77414
Adopt-a-wiki page
Txgenweblogo.GIF This page adopted by:
TXGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


County Information


Matagorda County, Texas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1903 1837 1850 1828 1827

County Courthouse

Matagorda County Courthouse
1700 7th Street
Bay City, TX 77414
Phone: 979.244.7680

Matagorda County Courthouse - 1896

County Clerk has birth records from 1903,
marriage records from 1838, death records
from 1917, land records from 1827, probate
records form late 1800’s, military records from
1919 and court records from 1981[1]

Matagorda County Courthouse -1848
Matagorda County Courthouse - 1928

County Clerk

1700 Seventh St. 202
Bay City 77414
Phone: 979-244-7680
Fax: 979-244-7688

District Clerk

1700 Seven St. Room 307
Bay City 77414
Phone: 979-244-7621

Matagorda County Courthouse - today



County Clerk
1700 7th Street, Room 202
Bay City, TX 77414-5094
(979) 244-7680

District Clerk
1700 7th Street, Room 307
Bay City, TX 77414
(979) 244-7621

History

Part of Stephen F. Austin's Colony.

Parent County

1836--Matagorda County was created 17 March 1836 from an Old Mexican Municipality.

  • County seat: Bay City [2]

Boundary Changes

See an interactive map of Matagorda County border changes.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Matagorda County For Kids

Places / Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Brazoria  • Calhoun  • Jackson  • Wharton

Wharton CountyBrazoria CountyMatagorda CountyJackson CountyCalhoun CountyTX MATAGORDA 1.JPG
About this image

Resources

African-American Information

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb


Billion Graves

Billion Graves


Cemeteries of Texas



Names in Stone



See Texas Cemeteries for more information.
Additional Cemetery Sources

Census

Churches

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.


Court

Historical Markers

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Matagorda County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

Maps

Txmatagorda.jpg

Military

Texas Revolution
Mexican-American War
Civil War

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Matagorda County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Obituaries

For current obituaries see newspaper sites above

Photographs

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Schools

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Voting

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Matagorda County Genealogical Society
1100 Seventh Street
Bay City, TX 77414-4915
E-mail:carolsgibbs@yahoo.com
Website- publishes "Oak Leaves" genealogical data about Matagorda County twice a year (Feb. and Aug.)

Matagorda County Historical Records
PO Box 275
Blessing, TX 77419-0275
Website

Bay City Public Library
1100 7th St.
Bay City, TX 77414
Website

Palacios Library
326 Main St.
Palacios, TX 77465
Website

Matagorda County Museum
2100 Avenue F.
Bay City, TX 77414
Website


City By the Sea Museum
401 Commerce Street
Palacios, TX 77465
Website


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

 

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Matagorda County, Texas. Page 669 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).