Matlock, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Matlock, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Matlock St Giles Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Bakewell|
|Parish registers: 1637|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Matlock is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Matlock Bridge, Matlock Bank, Riber, and Starkholmes.
MATLOCK (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Bakewell, hundred of Wirksworth, S. division of the county of Derby, 17½ miles (N. by W.) from Derby. This place, which was formerly called Mesterford or Metesford. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans..
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Matlock parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Matlock St Giles (1637) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's||1637-1912|| NONE
- Primitive Methodist
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241299.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Matlock on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 271-277. Date accessed: 29 June 2013.