Maur parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Maur parish

Guide to Maur parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Maur

Aesch
am See
Aschbach
Bachlen
Berg
Binz
Breite
Brügglen
Bundt
Bürgli
Chaibler
Chridler
Ebmatingen

Faden
Feld
Fluh
Forch
Gütsch
Halde
Hell
Heuberg
Hinter-Guldenen
Hinter-Tägern
Hintere Wannwies
Hubrain
Kahlen

Kreuzbühl
Lebern
Leeacker
Letzi
Looren
Maur
Neugut
Pfaffenacker
Platte
Rütihof
Scheuren
Schibändler
Seeblick

Sponstürli
Steintrüsen
Stuhlen
Süssplätz
Tiergärtli
Uessikon
Untere Looren
Vorder-Tägern
Vordere Wannwies
Wassberg
Weid bei Binz
Wölfern
Wolfgalgen

Surrounding Parishes

Egg
Fällanden
Greifensee
Herrliberg
Küsnacht
Mönchaltorf
Uster
Witikon
Zollikon
Zumikon

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Maur:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 3 385
1637 1185142 1 545
1640 1185144 2 265
1643 1185146 2 109
1646 1185148 1 615
1649 1185149 1 925
1657 1185179 1 74
1671 1185154 2 241
1678 1185158 1 47
1682 1185159 2 317
1689 1185163 2 725
1695 1185167 1 1311
1710 1185170 1 951
1724 1185178 1 381
1762 1185178 1 427

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Maur families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Maur belongs to the Dübendorf civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstands- und Bestattungsamt Dübendorf
Usterstrasse 2
8600 Dübendorf

Tel: +41 44 801 83 30

Internet contact can be found here.

email: zivilstandsamt@duebendorf.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Maur prior to 1875:

Aeppli
Ahl
Bachofen
Bantli
Baumberger (1809,
    from Fällanden)
Birch (1819, from Germany)
Bleuler
Bodmer (1875, from
    Volketswil)
Boller
Bosshard
Braun (from Avers)
Brüngger
Brunner
Bünzli
Buttauer (1815, from Austria)

Diener
Egg
Eggli
Fenner
Fischer
Glarner (1875, from
    Bäretswil)
Gubler
Güttinger
Gujer
Gut
Häuptli
Hafner (1822, from
    Germany)
Hartmann
Hinderling (1875, from
    Schlatt)
Hirzel
Hofmann
Hottinger

Hotz
Hotz (1875, from
    Fällanden)
Hurter
Irminger (1875, from
    Fällanden)
Jud
Kleinpeter
Kündig (1875)
Kunz
Lüssi
Maurer
Meyer
Moser
Müller
Muschg
Ochsner
Peter
Pfister (1837, from
    Dübendorf)

Pfister (1875, from
    Fällanden)
Rein (1809, from
    Germany)
Robmann
Schaufelberger
Schwyter
Staub
Stauber
Stauss
Treichler
Trüb
Vollenweider
Walder
Weber
Wettstein (1875)
Wiedmann
Wolfer
Wunderli
Zollinger

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland