Mauritius Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Mauritius)
Jump to: navigation, search
Mauritius Wiki Topics
Flag of Mauritius.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Mauritius Background
Local Research Resources
Africa
Mauritius

Guide to Mauritius ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Mauritius is an island country in the Indian Ocean whose nearest neighbor is Madagascar. It was formerly ruled by The Netherlands, France, and Great Britain. There is no official language.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Mauritius Research

Links to articles on getting started with Mauritius research.

Mauritius Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Mauritius research.


Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Mauritius Clickable Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Mauritius. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Mauritius. Districts:

  • Flacq
  • Grand Port
  • Moka
  • Pamplemousses
  • Plaines Wilhems
  • Port Louis
  • Rivière du Rempart
  • Rivière Noire
  • Savanne

Learning to Read Enough French to Do Genealogy - Many Records in Mauritius are in French

  • It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.
French Genealogical Word List
French Handwriting.
  • There is a three-lesson course in reading French Records:
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 1: The French Alphabet,
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 2: Key Words and Phrases
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 3: Reading French Records
  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Mauritius," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mauritius, accessed 27 April 2016.