Measham, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Measham, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Measham, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Measham, Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashby de la Zouch
Registration District Ashby de la Zouch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1681; Separate registers exist for Donisthorpe beginning 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662; Separate records exist for Donisthorpe beginning 1838
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartshorn
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

Measham is an Ancient Parish which includes partly Oakthorpe hamlet entirely in Derbyshire and partly Donisthorpe hamlet in both Derbyshire and Leicestershire. The two hamlets were united in 1866 as a civil parish named Donisthorpe in both derbyshire and Leicestershire. In 1869 Donisthorpe became an ecclesiastical parish. The ancient parish of Measham was transferred to Leicestershire in 1897. Measham's original registers are now found in the Leicestershire Record Office.

MEASHAM (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Ashby-de-la-Zouch, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 9 miles (N. by E.) from Atherstone with part of the hamlets of Donisthorpe and Oakthorpe, here are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Measham, Derbyshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Measham, Derbyshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
PC 1690-1910
1690-1910
1690-1910

The Measham original parish registers are now found in the Leicestershire Record Office.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • General Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.


Poor Law Unions

Ashby de la Zouch Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Measham on GENUKI

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 280-283. Date accessed: 29 June 2013.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.