Meidrim, Carmarthenshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngMeidrim

A guide to genealogy in Meidrim, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Meidrim is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

The redundant spelling of Mydrim can be seen in some older documents.


MYDRIM (MEIDRUM), a parish, partly in the hundred of ELVET, but chiefly in the higher division of the hundred of DERLLYS, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 8 miles (W.) from Carmarthen. This parish contains by admeasurement about 6000 acres of tolerably good land, easily convertible into arable or pasture, being sometimes under corn, and at others under grass; the produce is chiefly wheat, oats, and barley; there is not much timber, but what there is consists mostly of oak and ash. The surrounding scenery is pleasingly diversified, being enlivened by the course of the rivers which flow through the parish. Coal has been supposed to exist, and an attempt to procure it has been made with good prospects of success. The church, dedicated to St. David, is an ancient edifice of Norman architecture. There are places of worship for Baptists and Calvinistic Methodists.[1]

For more information on Meidrim see Meidrim at Genuki.


Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire


Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464309.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.