Meilen parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Meilen parish

Guide to Meilen parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Meilen

Arbach
Au
Bannacker
Betfahrt
Betzibühl
Binzweid
Bodenacker
Breite
Buchstud
Bühl
Bühlen
Bünishofen
Bundi
Burg
Dollikerrain
Dollikon
Durst

Erlen
Feldmeilen
Geisshalde
Grub
Grüt
Hasenlöchli
Hecht
Hinterburg
Hinter-Pfannenstiel
Hirzenberg
Hohenegg
Holländer
Karrhalten
Kirchbühl
Luft
Meilen
Ober-Aebleten

Obermeilen
Ober-Rotholz
Ober-Trünggeler
Platte
Pünten
Rain
Rehmatt
Risi
Rohren
Rossbach
Schilt
Schinhut
Schlehstud
Schwabach
Seehalde
Sonnenberg

Steinacker
Stockenweid
Stocklen
Tannacker
Toggwil
Unot
Unter-Aebleten
Unter-Rotholz
Unter-Trünggeler
Vorder-Pfannenstiel
Vorrain
Waid
Wampflen
Warzhalde
Wasserfels
Zelg

Surrounding Parishes

Egg
Herrliberg
Horgen
Oberrieden
Uetikon am See
Wädenswil

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Meilen:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 1 62
1637 1185141 2 79
1640 1185143 1 111
1643 1185145 1 275
1646 1185147 2 331
1650 1185150 2 179
1654 1185151 1 201
1657 1185179 1 107
1671 1185153 1 101
1678 1185152 3 287
1697 1185164 2 101

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Meilen families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Meilen belongs to the Männedorf civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt
Bahnhofstrasse 10
CH-8708 Männedorf

Tel: +41 44 921 66 00

email: zivilstandsamt@maennedorf.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Meilen prior to 1875:

Ammann
Bachmann (1875, from
    Hniwil)
Baumann
Baumgartner
Bebi
Bebie
Bock
Boller
Bolleter
Brändli
Brupbacher
Bürkli
Dohner

Dolder
Ebensberger
Fay (1855, from
    Germany)
Fierz
Gattiker
Glarner
Glogg
Guggenbühl
Haab
Hochstrasser
Hottinger
Hulftegger

Keller
Knopfli
Kull
Kunz
Kuser
Leemann
Meier
Muggli
Naef / Näf
Pfrunder
Rämann
Raimann
Reichling

Reutener
Romann (1868)
Steiger
Steiner
Sutz
von Tobel
Vontobel
Walder
Weber
Weinmann
Widmer
Wuhrmann
Wunderli

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland