Meløy, Nordland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Meløy, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngNordland County Gotoarrow.pngMeløy

Guide to Meløy, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Meløy clerical district contains the parish registers from Meløy parish. It was separated from Rødøy clerical district in 1903. For earlier records see Rødøy clerical district.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1833-1924.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Meløy: 1833-1941

Rødøy / Meløy: 1760-1844, 1863-1907

Rødøy / Rødøy, Meløy: 1860-1877

Rødøy: 1739-1750, 1824-1863, 1902-1910, 1924-1942

Census Records

  • 1664-1666, 1701, 1801, 1865, 1875 see Rødøy clerical district

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Moe, Knut, Gård og grend i Meløy, Meløy : Meløy kommune, 1981. A history of Meløy and the farms in the area in Nordland with some genealogy. FHL 948.451/M2 H2m Farm name indexes to volumes 1 and 2 are found in the following links. File:948.451-M2 H2m V1 - MELOY 1.pdf, File:948.451-M2 H2m V2 - MELOY 2.pdf

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

12 Aabotsvik, 14 Aag, 7 Aamnes, 16 Arhaug, 86 Ballset, 85 Ballsetvatnet, 31 Bjærangen, 2 Bolgen, 53 Borvik, 22 Braset, 30 Breivik, 70 Dalen, 58 Digermulen, 60 Djupvik, 37 Enga, 13 Engevik, 80 Fagervik, 18 Fondalen, 19 Fonnøren, 27 Forøen, 74 Gaasvær, 64 Gjerset, 45 Glommen, 29 Grønaasen, 39 Grønøen, 26 Halsa, 28 Halsosen, 3 Harfjeld, 4 Harfjeldstrand, 46 Haugvik nordre, 11 Haugvik søndre, 10 Herstad, 21 Holand, 41 Jenslund, 32 Kjeldal, 6 Kjørhaug, 5 Kjørhaugvik, 15 Korsvik, 72 Kunna, 69 Marken, 77 Meløen, 76 Meløskagen, 82 Meløsund, 83 Mesøen, 61 Mosvold, 49 Næverdal, 34 Oldra, 36 Osa, 75 Otervær, 44 Reindalen, 17 Rendalsvik, 81 Risvik, 79 Røshagen, 50 Sandaa, 43 Sandvik, 35 Saura, 48 Selstad, 84 Sildvik 24 Skaalsvik 9 Skaret 1 Sneen 20 Snelandslien 23 Sommersæt 57 Spilderdalen 55 Spilderen 8 Stavnes 66 Stie, 73 Støtt, 47 Sætvik, 67 Sørfore, 65 Teksmoen, 63 Torsvik, 54 Vaatvik, 38 Valla nedre, 40 Valla øvre, 42 Vasdal, 78 Venvik, 59 Vinterveien, 27 Æsøen, 51 Øbugt, 71 Øisund

Probate Records

1713-1877: Probates are found in Salten judicial district.

1701-1832: Clerical probates are found in Salten Deanery

Historical Society

Meløy Historielag

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names