Merionethshire, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Merionethshire, Wales)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngMerionethshire

Wales Wiki Topics
Y ddraig goch.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wales Background
Local Research Resources


Guide to Merionethshire, Wales Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

| {{{link}}}

Historic Merionethshire

Wales Merioneth

Merionethshire, or sometimes Merioneth, (Welsh: Sir Feirionnydd or Meirionnydd or Meirion) was one of the thirteen historic counties of Wales.

The county was formed in 1284 under the terms of the Statute of Rhuddlan from the cantrefi (hundreds) of Meirionnydd; the Ardudwy commote of Dunoding; Penllyn and the Lordship of Dinmael.

It was a maritime county, bounded to the north by Caernarfonshire, to the east by Denbighshire, to the south by Montgomeryshire and Cardiganshire, and to the west by Cardigan Bay. It was one of the more sparsely populated counties of the the country. The administrative county of Merionethshire, with an elected county council, was created under the Local Government Act 1888. The county town was Dolgellau.

Motto: Tra môr, tra Meirion (English: While the sea lasts, so shall Merioneth)

Chapman Code: MER

Gwynedd 1974-1996

Gwynedd 1974

The county of Merionethshire was abolished, for both local government and ceremonial purposes, on April 1, 1974. Most of the former county became part of the newly formed county of Gwynedd, which covered the whole of north-west Wales. However, the Edeirnion district in the east became part of the newly formed county of Clwyd.

Modern Gwynedd

Modern Gwynedd

The situation remained unchanged following further local government reorganisation in 1994. However, the former Merionethshire district of Edeirnion became part of the newly created county of Denbighshire.

Parishes


Topics

Research tools

  • The North Wales BMD. A searchable index of births marriages and deaths within the county of Merionethshire from 1837 to around 1950.


Websites