Meriwether County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Meriwether County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia


Meriwether County


Guide to Meriwether County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Meriwether County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Meriwether County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 14, 1927
County Seat Greenville
Courthouse
Address Meriwether County Courthouse
PO Box 428
Greenville, GA 30222-0428
Phone: 706.672.1314
Meriwether County Website


County Information

Meriwether County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Meriwether County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1927
1828
1929
1830
1827
18/25


County Courthouse

Meriwether County Courthouse
PO Box 428
Greenville, GA 30222-0428
Phone: 706.672.1314

Probate Court has birth records from 1927, marriage records from 1828, death records
from 1929 and probate records from 1838; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1827 and military discharge records.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
P.O. Box 160
100 N. Court Square
Greenville, GA 30222
Phone: (706) 672-4416
Fax: (706) 672-9465

Probate Court of Meriwether County
P.O. Box 608
Greenville, GA 30222
Phone: (706) 672-4952

History

Parent County

1827--Meriwether County was created 14 December 1827 from Troup County. County seat: Greenville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Tornado.jpg
Fire.png
1893 A tornado badly damaged the town and courthouse of Greenville 3 March, but few records were damaged.[3]

1976 A courthouse fire on 27 January resulted in no county record losses or damage.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Coweta County  • Harris County  • Pike County  • Spalding County  • Talbot County  • Troup County  • Upson County

Meriwether CountyTroup CountyHarris CountyMuscogee CountyChambers CountyTalbot CountyTaylor CountyCrawford CountyMonroe CountyUpson CountyPike CountyLamar CountySpalding CountyHenry CountyClayton CountyFayette CountyCoweta CountyHeard CountyRandolph CountyClay CountyTallapoosa CountyLee CountyMacon CountyRussell CountyGAMeriwether.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Meriwether County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Hill, Ella Godwin. The History of Warm Springs, Georgia. Chastain, Ark.: Hillcroft Press, c1934. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Gameriwether.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Meriwether County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Meriwether County, Georgia Genealogy:

-2nd Battalion, North Carolina Infantry
- 1st Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate)
- 2nd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 8th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 13th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (State Guards) (Confederate), Company B
- 13th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 41st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 55th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies F and K
- 60th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 64th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company E
- 2nd Battalion, North Carolina Infantry, Company E
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Meriwether County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Meriwether Historical Society
PO Box 741
Greenville , GA 30222-0741

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Meriwether County, Georgia. Page 158 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 43-44. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Meriwether_County,_Georgia_Genealogy&oldid=2753013"