Merther, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to Merther, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Merther Church ruin
|Poor Law Union||Truro|
|Parish registers: 1675|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
MERTHER (St. Merther), a parish, in the union of Truro, W. division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall, 5 miles (W.) from Tregoney. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Merther St Coan was an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1787 from chapelry in Probus, Cornwall Ancient Parish.
Merther church is dedicated to St Coan but is now a disused ruin. A new church was built at Tresillian Bridge [Tressillian Holy Trinity] in 1904 (the font, bells, statue of St Anthony and pulpit from Merther were moved to the new church). The church was abandoned in the mid-20th century. Until 1866 Merther Church was a chapelry to Probus, Cornwall: it then became a separate parish but was united with Lamorran, Cornwall in 1900.
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Merther, Cornwall Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Merther, Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|IGI||1658-1799, 1813-1875||1677-1767, 1838-1895|
Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 146
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.
The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Merther .
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241270.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
Merther in GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 295-298. Date accessed: 18 March 2013.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 November 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
- 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.