Metcalfe County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Metcalfe County, Kentucky)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Metcalfe County

Guide to Metcalfe County, Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Metcalfe County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Metcalfe County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 1, 1860
County Seat Edmonton
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Metcalfe Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Metcalfe County, Kentucky Genealogy Government Records
Birth*
Marriage
Death*
Census
Land
Probate
1860
1861
1860
1860
1868
1865
*Many years between 1860 and 1911 are missing
Metcalfe County Courthouse, Edmonton, Ky. Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.

Metcalfe County Courthouse
PO Box 850;
Edmonton, KY 42129
Phone: 270.432.4821[1]

History

Parent County

1860--Metcalfe County was created 1 February 1860 from Adair, Barren, Cumberland, Green and Monroe Counties.
County seat: Edmonton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1865, 1867--Courthouse disasters destroyed most records.


Places/Localities

Populated Places

Beaumont Cork Goodluck Savoyard
Beechville Curtis Knob Lick Shady Grove
Cedar Flats Echo New Liberty Summer Shade
Center Edmonton Node Willow Shade
Clarks Corner Gascon Randolph Wisdom
Cofer

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Kymetcalfe.png

African American Research

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biographies

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.


Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
KYGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
KYGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Kentucky Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18707,934
18809,42318.8%
18909,8714.8%
19009,9881.2%
191010,4534.7%
192010,075−3.6%
19309,373−7.0%
194010,85315.8%
19509,851−9.2%
19608,367−15.1%
19708,177−2.3%
19809,48416.0%
19908,963−5.5%
200010,03712.0%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21169.txt

For tips on accessing Metcalfe County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Old Metcalfe County Courthouse, Edmonton, Ky. Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Bibliography
  • [Crenshaw] Peden, Henry C. The Crenshaws of Kentucky, 1800-1995: A Genealogy of the Crenshaws in South-central Kentucky, Primarily the Counties of Barren and Metcalfe, Including the Related Families of Allen, Arnett, Beard, Bird, Bradshaw, Dearing, Dickey, Duke, Franklin, Goad, Hord, Jackson, Love, Maupin, Mitchell, Munday, Pace, Parrish ... Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 C863p

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Metcalfe County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Online Records

World War I
Korean War

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Metcalfe County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Metcalfe County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Metcalfe County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Metcalfe County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Metcalfe County, Kentucky Genealogy Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records


Birth
  • 1839-1960 - KY Births and Christenings ~ Kentucky Births and Christenings, 1839-1960 Family Search
  • 1861 - Metcalfe County Birth Index 1861. Batch C517761 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1874 - Metcalfe County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517762 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875 - Metcalfe County Birth Index 1875. Batch C517763 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • Searchable KY Vital Records ~ Searchable databases of KY Births, Deaths and Marriages


Marriage


Death
Divorce
  • 1973-1993 - KY Divorces 1973 - 1993 ~ Kentucky Divorce Records 1973 - 1993 ~ University of Kentucky Vital Records Databases

Societies and Libraries

Metcalfe County Historical Society
Box 91
Edmonton KY 42129

South Central Kentucky Historical and Genealogical Society
PO Box 157
Glasgow, KY 42142-0157


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Metcalfe County, Kentucky page 273, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.