Metfield, Suffolk Genealogy
METFIELD (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 3¾ miles (S. E. by E.) from Harleston; The Independents have a place of worship.
|Fressingfield||Cratfield Linstead-Magna||Linstead-Parva Chediston|
|Project members: Use a combination of sources to create a short history; using gazetteers, census population data, history books, and websites focusing on the eighteenth and nineteenth century’s. Use resource material found in the Resource and Reference sections below. Refer to Suffolk Talk Page for details.|
If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers. Refer to Metfield and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.
Metfield, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Metfield, Suffolk Genealogy Online Records|
The Parish Registers begin in 1559. They can be view at the Suffolk Record Office. A copy of the registers from 1559 to 1900 can be purchased from the Suffolk Record Office. For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are considerable for Metfield. See Suffolk Church Record for further details.
There are census records available for Metfield from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Metfield Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.
See Suffolk History: 'Note events that took place in the parish or affected the parish'
- RAF Metfield - There was an airfield in Metfield during World War II; 1940's
Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Metfield was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District. Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- England Jurisdictions 1851 - see parish in context with surrounding parishes
- Suffolk Gazetteers - There are numerous online gazetteers
- British History Online -METFIELD (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 3¾ miles (S. E. by E.) from Harleston. 
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 295-298. Date accessed: 20 June 2014
- 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911 Place Index', findmypast, accessed 18 December 2015.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
- 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 295-298. Date accessed: 02 October 2013.