Miami County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Miami County, Indiana)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States  Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Miami County

Guide to Miami County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Miami County, Indiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Founded February 2, 1832
County Seat Peru
Address Miami County Courthouse
25 North Broadway
Peru, IN 46970
Phone: 756-472-3901
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed 2 February 1832 from Cass County and unorganized territory.[1]
  • County Seat: Peru [2]

Neighboring Counties

Fulton  • Wabash  • Grant  • Howard  • Cass

Miami CountyHoward CountyMadison CountyWabash CountyKosciusko CountyFulton CountyPulaski CountyCass CountyClinton CountyCarroll CountyGrant CountyTipton CountyINMiami.JPG

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

March 1843 The Miami County courthouse was destroyed by fire in March of 1843; all records except deeds from 1828 were destroyed.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Bible Records



Individual cemeteries:

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county Family History Library
INGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
INGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Indiana Interment
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Miami County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Peru

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records


Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups




March 1843 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.

For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Local Histories

  • History of Miami County, Indiana: From the Earliest Time to the Present, with Biographical Sketches, Notes, Etc., Together with an Extended History of the Northwest, the Indiana Territory, and the State of Indiana.(Salem, Mass: Higginson Book Co, 1992.) 977.284 H2h FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection, Other Libraries, Google Books

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Miami County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Miami County.

Civil War Book

Bodurtha, Arthur L. , "Military History," Chapter 11 inHistory of Miami County, Indiana , (Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co., 1914.), (page204-241)977.284 H2bFHL Collection  other librariesInternet Archive

World War I

World War II





Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Online Records

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records



County Courthouse

Miami County Courthouse
25 North Broadway
Peru, IN 46970
Phone: 756-472-3901

County Health Department has birth, death and burial records. County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1843. [3]

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.



Miami Genealogical Society
PO Box 542
Peru, IN 46970

Miami County Historical Society
51 North Broadway
Peru, IN 46970

Miami Nation of Indians of the State of Indiana
80 W. 6th St.
Peru, IN 46970
Telephone Number: 765-473-9631


Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records



  • Marriage Index G, 1943-1944, has 3 images, each image indexed separately. Look at all 3 images to get names of both spouses and their parents. (For the bride, the other person on the index is the maiden name of her new mother-in-law!)


Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Web Sites



  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Miami County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Miami County, Indiana 214 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.