Micklehurst, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Micklehurst, Cheshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Micklehurst

Guide to Micklehurst, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

MICKLEHURST, ahamlet, in the township of Tintwistle, parish of Mottram-in-Longdendale, union of Ashton-under-Lyne, hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester. It consists of a large tract of moorland, purchased in 1845 from John Tollemache, Esq., by the Earl of Stamford and Warrington. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.


Church Records

Micklehurst Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Micklehurst All Saints Parish (1962) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
1900-1934
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

Micklehurst All Saints created 1962 from Millbrook, Cheshire and Mossley Lancashire.

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers of Micklehurst, 1900-1939. Cheshire Record Office call nos.: P216/1/1-2.

Parish Registers: Micklehurst Film
Marriages, 1900-1939.
2262946 Items 8 - 9

Millbrook was created as an ecclesiastical parish in 1863 from St. Pauls Chapel, Stalybridge. Includes records from All Saints Chapel of Ease, Micklehurst.

Bishop's transcripts for Millbrook, 1873-1898 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 147

Bishops Transcripts: Millbrook Film
Baptisms, burials, 1873-1898.
1647521 Item 2

Bishop's transcripts for Mobberley; All Saint Chapel, Micklehurst, 1599-1898 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB/148.

Includes some entries for All Saints Chapel of Ease, Micklehurst.

Micklehurst is in the parish of Mottram-in-Longdendale.

Bishops Transcripts: Mobberly
Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1599, 1608, 1610-1611, 1615, 1617-1619, [no date], 1622-1626, 1628-1629, 1631, 1635, 1633, 1632, 1636-1637, 1640, 1663-1664, 1666-1673, 1675-1676, 1674; 1671-1673, 1675-1676, 1674 (duplicate filming), 1677-1678, 1680-1685; 1690, 1706, 1708-1713, 1726-1729, 1723-1726, 1729-1730, 1723-1724, 1722-1723, 1719-1721, 1716-1718, 1715-1716, 1713-1715; burials, 1897-1898, baptisms, 1897-1898, 1897-1898, 1595-1897, 1895-1896, burials, 1895-1896, baptisms, 1893-1894, burials, 1893-1894, baptisms, burials, 1892, baptisms, 1889-1891, burials, 1889-1891, baptisms, 1883-1889, burials, 1883-1889, baptisms, burials, 1882-1875 (records filmed backwards), baptisms, 1873-1875, burials, 1873-1874; baptisms, marriages, burials, 1745-1731 (records filmed backwards and not in strict chronological order), 1745-1750.
1736870 Items 3 - 7
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1750-1789, 1787-1812, 1814-1835, 1837-1839, marriages, 1843, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1840, marriages, 1842, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1841, baptisms, burials, 1842-1843, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1844-1864, marriages, 1865, baptisms, burials, 1864, burials, 1865-1866, marriages, 1866, 1865, baptisms, 1865-1866.
1736871 Items 1 - 4
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1867, baptisms, 1868-1869, marriages, 1869, 1868, burials, 1868-1869, baptisms, 1870-1871, marriages, 1870-1871, 1870-1871, burials, 1870-1871, baptisms, 1873, marriages, 1873, 1872, burials, 1872-1873, marriages, burials, baptisms, 1874, burials, 1875-1876, marriages, 1876, 1875, baptisms, 1875-1876.
1736977 Item 12
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1877-1884.
1736978 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

  Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Ashton under Lyne (1837-94)

Poor Law Unions

  • Ashton under Lyne

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 298-301. Date accessed: 24 January 2014.



Bibliography