Mid Lavant, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Mid Lavant, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Mid Lavant, Sussex|
|Hundred||Westbourne and Singleton|
|Poor Law Union||Westhampnett|
|Parish registers: 1567|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1591|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
MIDHURST (St. Denis), a borough, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Easebourne, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 11½ miles (N. by E.) from Chichester, and 49¼ (S. W.) from London.
Mid Lavant St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex. The village and civil parish of Lavant is made up of three villages, Mid Lavant and East Lavant together with the much smaller West Lavant, and takes its name from the River Lavant which flows from East Dean and is in the Chichester District of West Sussex. See Lavant West Sussex Wikipedia
Sussex Parish Churches history of the church Mid Lavant St Nicholas
The church of St Nicholas, Midhurst Road, Mid Lavant has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Westhmpnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Mid Lavant, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Mid Lavant, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
||1567-1594, 1614-1901|| |
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Lavant, Mid
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474674.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 310-313. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.