Middleton St George, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Middleton St George, Durham)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Middleton St George, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Middleton St George, Durham
Middleton St George St Laurence Durham.jpg
Middleton St George St Laurence Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Darlington
Registration District Darlington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1616
Bishop's Transcripts: 1768
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

MIDDLETON (St. George), a parish, in the union of Darlington, S. W. division of Stockton ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 6 miles (E. S. E.) from Darlington.[1]

MIDDLETON-ST.GEORGE, or Middleton-One Row, a village and a parish in Darlington district, Durham. The village stands on the river Tees, at the boundary with Yorkshire, near Dinsdale spa, 1 mile S of the Darlington and Stockton railway, and 4½ ESE of Darlington. While the parish properly bears that of Middleton-St. St. George; has a post office, of its own proper name, under Darlington; There is a Wesleyan chapel.[2]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Middleton St George, Durham Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/179 1768-1843 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1616-1972 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Mi.SG).

Non Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241357.

Poor Law Unions

Darlington Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Middleton St George on GENUKI


  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales,. 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.