Midhope, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Midhope, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Strafforth and Tickhill|
|Poor Law Union||Wortley|
|Parish registers: 1813|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
MIDHOPE, a chapelry, in the parish of Ecclesfield, union of Wortley, N. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 2½ miles (S. S. W.) from the town of Penistone.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of MIDHOPE exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|BOL = Bolsterstone web|
|SI = Sheffield Indexers|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|MIDHOPE CHAPELRY (1789) Online Records|
|ECCLESFIELD PARISH Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Midhope and comprising the whole ancient parish of Ecclesfield to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ECCLESFIELD page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
The christening records are being transcribed by Bolsterstone Genealogy Project and are listed online at www.bolsterstone.de/christenings.htm#2870%20christenings%20found%20on-line
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464276.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.