Milford, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Milford, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Milford Holy Trinity Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Belper|
|Parish registers: 1846|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Milford Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1846 from Belper, Derbyshire Ecclesiastical Parish and [uffield, Derbyshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Makeney.
MILFORD, a village and ecclesiastical district, in theparish of Duffield, union of Belper, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 2 miles (S.) from Belper. The Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists have each a place of worship.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Milford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Milford Holy Trinity (1846) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1846-1912
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
- General Baptist
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Reform
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241287.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Milford on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 316-319. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.