Miller County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Miller County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Miller County

Guide to Miller County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Miller County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Miller County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 1, 1820
County Seat Texarkana
Courthouse
ArkansasMillerCourthouse.jpg
Address Miller County Courthouse
Vital Records
400 Laurel Street, Texarkana, AR 71854
Phone: 870-774-1501



County Courthouse

Miller County Courthouse
Vital Records
400 Laurel Street, Texarkana, AR 71854
Phone: 870-774-1501

County Clerk has marriage, probate and land records from 1875; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records.[1]

Beginning years for Miller County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1875 1914* 1874 1874 1874
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

The City of Texarkana is located in two states. In the middle of the city is a street called State Line Road which separates the city between Bowie County, Texas and Miller County, Arkansas. Texarkana is the county seat for Miller County, Arkansas, and a marriage license purchased in Miller County, Arkansas is not valid in the State of Texas.

Parent County

1820--Miller County was created 1 April 1820 from Lafayette County. It was abolished in 1836 and re-established in 1874.  County seat: Texarkana [3]

The county was named for James Miller, territorial governor of Arkansas.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1828 Fire burned the courthouse.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bossier Parish, Louisiana  • Bowie County, Texas  • Caddo Parish, Louisiana  • Cass County, Texas  • Hempstead  • Lafayette  • Little River  •

Miller CountyLittle River CountyHempstead CountyLafayette CountyBowie CountyBossier ParishCass CountyCaddo ParishColumbia CountyNevada CountyHoward CountyMcCurtain CountyMarion CountyHarrison CountyMorris CountyWebster CountySevier CountyARMiller.JPG


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Miller County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [4]

  • 1778 - By this time, the Caddo Indians, who had inhabited the area, left their towns in the Great Bend region of southwest Arkansas.
  • 1700s - This area was claimed by the Quapaw
  • 1820 April 1 - The legislature established Miller County
  • 1838 - the first Miller County was abolished
  • 1850 - Interest in settling in this part of the state was slow to develop because the U.S. government had listed the area as “swamplands,” unfit for settlement, under the Swamp Lands Act of 1850.
  • 1874 December 22 - Miller County was reestablished.
  • 1874-1900 - The county’s population boomed, mainly in response to the railroad and the influx of immigrants and settlers.
  • 1940s - World War II boosted Miller County’s economy with two manufacturing facilities just over the state line: the Red River Army Ammunition Plant and the Lone Star Army Ammunition Depot.

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Miller County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Miller County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists


Census

The 1840 - 1870 censuses do not include old Miller County, since the county was discontinued in 1836. Possibilities to check:

1840, 1850, 1860: Lafayette, Hempstead, Sevier
1870: Lafayette

Church Records

Church Records - partial listing  -  USGenWeb Archives

Court

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1875-1931 Miller County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration records 1875-1918; Dockets 1883-1889; Executor records 1875-1918; Guardian records 1875-1918; Probate record index 1875; Probate records 1875-1893; Wills 1875-1931.

Genealogy

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Arkansas section begins on page 439.]
Civil War
World War I
World War II
Korean War
Vietnam War

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miller County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

  • Arkansas History Commission & State Archives
    One Capitol Mall
    Little Rock, AR 72201
    Telephone: 501-682-6900
  • Arkansas Historical Association
    History Department
    Ozark Hall, 12, University of Arkansas
    Old Main 416
    Fayetteville, AR 72701
    Telephone: 501-575-5884
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Miller County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Miller County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Miller County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Miller County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Miller County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 69.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Beverly J. Rowe, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=790&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 14, 2016), “Miller County.”
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.