Millom, Cumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Millom, Cumberland)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cumberland Gotoarrow.png Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Millom, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Millom, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Allerdale above Derwent
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Bootle
Registration District Bootle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1590
Bishop's Transcripts: 1689
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Copeland
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Copeland
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Parish History

MILLOM (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Bootle, Allerdale ward above Derwent, W. division of Cumberland, 12 miles (S. E. by S.) from Ravenglass.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Millom, Cumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
MILLOM PARISH Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


PRTs 1591-1812 1591-1812 1591-1812

Record on microfilm

The registers of Millom, Cumberland, 1591-1812

Parish registers for St. George's Church, Millom, 1877-1909

Parish registers forHoly Trinity Church, Millom, 1590-1915

Bishop's transcripts for Holy Trinity Church Millom, 1690-1881

Parish registers for Chapelry of Haverigg, 1891-1911

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241277.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Millom on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), Date accessed and adapted 6 August 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.