Miner County, South Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Miner County, South Dakota)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png South Dakota Gotoarrow.png Miner County

Guide to Miner County, South Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Howard
Organized: January 8, 1873
Parent County(s): Hanson [1]
Neighboring Counties
Beadle  • Hanson  • Kingsbury  • Lake  • McCook  • Sanborn
See County Maps
Courthouse
SouthDakotaMinerCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
SD-miner.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Miner Co. SDGenWeb
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Miner County Courthouse
401 N Main Street PO Box 265
Howard, SD 57349
Phone: 605.772.4612

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1905, marriage records from 1886, burial and land records;
Clerk Court has probate and court records from 1886 and divorce records[2]

Miner County, South Dakota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1882 1881 1883 1880

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1873--Miner County was created 8 January 1873 fromHanson County.
  • County seat: Howard [1]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[3]

Cities
Towns
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Adams
  • Beaver
  • Belleview
  • Canova
  • Carthage
  • Clearwater
  • Clinton
  • Grafton
  • Green Valley
  • Henden
  • Howard
  • Miner
  • Redstone
  • Rock Creek
  • Roswell
  • Vermillion
Unorganized territories
  • Cedarbutte
  • Central Mellette


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Miner County, South Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Dakota Cemeteries for more information
Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 363
1890 5,165 1322.9%
1900 5,864 13.5%
1910 7,661 30.6%
1920 8,560 11.7%
1930 8,376 −2.1%
1940 6,836 −18.4%
1950 6,268 −8.3%
1960 5,398 −13.9%
1970 4,454 −17.5%
1980 3,739 −16.1%
1990 3,272 −12.5%
2000 2,884 −11.9%
2010 2,389 −17.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Census Records

State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for South Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see South Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Miner County, South Dakota Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.

  • Early history of Miner County. 1981. By Leif I. Fjellestad. Sioux Falls, South Dakota : Center for Western Studies. Online at: ; At various libraries (WorldCat).

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

World War I


Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

South Dakota Newspapers Online

South Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper.

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miner County, South Dakota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Miner then click Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Miner County Rural Life Museum
Miner County Historical Society
127 South Main Street
PO Box 245
Howard, South Dakota 57349
Telephone: 605-772-4567
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Miner County, South Dakota, p.627
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Miner County, South Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miner_County%2C_South_Dakota accessed 6 November 2016.